Monasteries

Church of the Holy Virgin is located in the village Donja Kamenica, 15 kilometers south-east from Knjaževac. It is a foundation of an unknown nobleman, originated from 14th century. This church represents the most original and most valuable artistic monument of the Timok Eparchy.

The church plan has a cruciform shape. It is decorated with semicircular apses, and its cubes rest on pendentives. On the west side there is narthex with a floor, whose lateral parts are overlaid with towers. Architecture is a combination of Romanesque, Gothic and Moravian architecture. The church paintings are of exceptional value, both stylistic and iconographic.  

Some of the frescoes are unique in Serbian medieval painting. It is believed that the paintings were made by two masters, and a special treasure consists of the founder's compositions and portraits of the nobleman with wealthy details in presentation of their clothes. Of extraordinary artistic value are compositions The Last Supper, Annunciation, Virgin Hodegetria with Christ, Dormition of the other of the God and a unique composition of  Saint Warriors Theodore Tyron and Theodor Stratilates hugging on horses, which are located in the south and north tower of the church like cycles of life of Saint Prascheva.

Archaeological research, which followed the conservation works from 1979 from 1981, has confirmed the existence of a necropolis with 70 graves around the church. The first liturgy, after 70 years, was served on April 6, 2010.  
 

Monastery Holy Trinity

Monastery Holy Trinity is located between Gornja and Donja Kamenica, in the valley of Trgoviški Timok, 17 kilometers from Knjaževac. It is a foundation of Serbian despot Lazar, the youngest son of Djuradj Branković, as written in the legend from 1454. The church has modest dimensions and is built in Serbian-Moravian style. Although built poorly, it was entirely painted. Frescoes were mostly ruined in the middle of 20th century, and today only their traces can be seen.
Hieromonk Pantalejmon Nedeljković was the first known igumen of this monastery, which was constructed in 1836. During his time, church property was organized, books were acquired and the monastery`s library was equipped, with books being used even nowadays.

Paintings inside the church are nearly entirely ruined. Only several fragments of frescoes are kept in cubes and narthex, which belong to the frescoes from renewal dated in first half of the 19th century. Today in this monastery live nuns, who are engaged in making icons and other objects related to the orthodox faith.